Fun with Small Knives (Now You See it, Now You Don’t)

Standard

Image

For the longest time I have been baffled by the art of paper cutting. I have never had very much success (read: accuracy) with an X-acto knife. Until tonight. I picked up this little retractable knife on a whim at Target, of all places. The price was right, so I took a chance without high hopes.

I finally gained some fluency and joy getting in the nooks and crannies that often elude scissors. I can tell there is still a learning curve for gaining mastery, but at last it is a pleasure. Lots depends on paper weight (and good light!) but I found pieces I’d cut falling away effortlessly. I’m very pleased with this new tool. And it comes with four replacement blades so even if I can’t find them in the future the disposable life has been greatly extended.

Image

3 responses »

  1. What a great ad you have posted for them. Do those buttons on the handle mean it is battery operated?

    >________________________________ > From: Paper Cut Illustrations >To: asstated@yahoo.com >Sent: Saturday, February 16, 2013 10:07 PM >Subject: [New post] Fun with Small Knives (Now You See it, Now You Don’t) > > > WordPress.com >Leigh Lambert posted: “For the longest time I have been baffled by the art of paper cutting. I have never had very much success (read: accuracy) with an X-acto knife. Until tonight. I picked up this little retractable knife on a whim at Target, of all places. The price was righ” >

    • Not battery operated. It retracts like a ball point pen. It is so cool. I’m usually leery of endorsing specific products because it seems so pandering or kiss-ass, but as a reader I’m always frustrated when you can’t find the exact tool someone is raving about. I want specifics.

      Now I see that the same company makes an diameter-adjustable circle cutter. This sounds straight forward enough. But you’d be surprised how many (all) circle cutters are designed as punches, meaning you have real limitations as to where/what you punch out. And of course with that design the diameter is static. I put it on my Amazon wish list so I don’t lose track of it. I don’t NEED it, but man would that be fun to play with. Stay tuned.

      ________________________________

  2. Pingback: Pointers for Collage Cutting | Paper Cut Illustrations

Leave a Reply

