Ordered Chaos

Standard

Image

I’m in profound admiration and confusion by orderly studios. I see them all the time on Pinterest or other blogs that show work spaces. I’ve always strived to somehow organize my studio, but for naught. I’ve got piles of magazines and files of cut papers and still more piles of discarded – to be used later – cut-outs. My mess is integral to the way I work. I start to sort things and come across a dress I’d cut out a year ago and it makes me think that maybe a giraffe head might fit nicely on it… and I’m off. Half, if not more, of the “choices” I make are really just a matter of picking from the top of the compost heap, as it were.

I’m sure I’ll continue my failed attempts at organization, being forever seduced by the pictures of clean surfaces and tidy bookshelves I see of other’s, but it’s comforting  to realize that my lack of order enhances my creativity.

4 responses »

  1. “Half, if not more, of the “choices” I make are really just a matter of picking from the top of the compost heap, as it were.” That can count as a metaphore for LIFE. Solid. Love your work!! 🙂

    • Thanks so much. Sometimes I feel I should have a master plan, but I’m always distracted by smelling the flowers along the way… and reroute. 

      ________________________________

  2. The reroute is the purpose of the trip, I think. Getting there, wherever it is, is just the idea to get you moving, I think it’s the moving that counts. Love your studio.

Leave a Reply

