Goya Cat

Standard

Image

This cat is an illustration for a friend of mine who has written a story. Her now deceased cat was named Goya. As you can tell from the photo she sent me I have taken some liberties with her markings. Mostly I was concerned with trying to capture the sweet, contemplative nature the picture conveys.

She is about 3″ x 4″. Even though her friend in the story is a boxer dog and will need to be bigger, which gets a bit unwieldy to stamp, going any smaller than that makes it hard to capture expression in the eyes.

I’m thinking a dark grey will suit her character well, but it was great fun to try on different coats of color.

2 responses »

  1. I think you captured the essence of this nice cat – the sweet soft pose – I imagine your friend can see her cat in this illustration because I can! Just picking based on how it looks to me – after the post has made it’s way through the digital world – the three images in the bottom row communicate the most.
    Elephant

Leave a Reply

