Exploring Society 6 (aka Adventures in Marketing)

Standard

Image

Well, I’m clearly late to the party, but I got around to posting a few images on Society 6 for purchase. If you are unfamiliar with the site, it is a neat collection of disparate artists who partner with S6 to reproduce their images on various products; tote bags, t-shirts, stretched canvas, framed prints, note cards, phone cases, you name it.

I have read about it on several people’s blogs and was intrigued. I’ve just dipped my toe in the water… and the water is unexpectedly deep. For instance, in order to offer your art on specific products you have to take the time to format each image to exactly the pixelization they specify. I’m sure this is easy for the tech savvy, but I don’t count myself among them. (It’s why I choose to spend hours hand carving stamps!) I also need to take more care in getting high quality shots of my art (rather than the ones I snap with my phone at the end of the night.)

Still, I’m of the philosophy, “ready, fire, aim!” In other words, you have to dive in to figure it out and spend some time floundering about in the water. If you wait to pull the trigger until you think you know all the details, the target will keep shifting and you’ll never get things underway (to mix metaphors) . So, without further adieu…. drum roll please… I welcome you to explore my newest marketing venture through Society 6. (The one image will lead you to the others so you can poke around a bit.)

More shameless self-promotion to come!

6 responses »

  1. Your work is perfectly suited to many of the s6 products available, but yes, you will need to upload correctly formatted files. Your print designs would work really well as T-shirts and throw pillows.

  2. I’ve never heard of Society 6 before but I LOVE it! What a great idea. I can’t wait to spend some more time exploring. I absolutely love your penguin print, as well (I hope you figure out the formatting thing so you can make it into a t-shirt- I’d totally get it.)

  3. I will have to revisit this when I am home and you are up and running – please, because I am not organized – will you remind me and all the world about this Society 6 place later? It sounds fun and you know I will have to buy something from you!
    Elephant

Leave a Reply

